Becoming What?

When Jinnah visited to Azad Kashmir after the creation of Pakistan, the heavy load of people on the bridge to welcome Jinnah resulted in collision of the bridge. Jinnah told them that if they want him to construct the bridge for them, he would not, though he has the power to order; still he would not do it because it is not his job. The message was if everyone in the nation does what he is capable of doing, the nation will benefit more.

Now, what if a person has a capability but he is never given an opportunity. When I had computer, I became computer scientist, when I had a camera, I took the best shots, when I had tennis racquet I became good tennis player, what about my class fellows who were with me in the school of a small town, who had all these capabilities also, I guess, but they were never aware of their talent and skills.

In our first physics class, our teacher told us, “this is the life, some will go at top, some will stay down, and God has created this world like that”. At that time, I agreed with him, but now I do not. I would say this is the life; God has gifted everyone with a unique mind, style and skills. Some will become engineers, some will become doctors and some will become business men and artists.

Mahendar, who was not very good in studies but still very active in the 8th grade, He had fixed the car battery with car horn in his bicycle. So whenever he honked horn every one gave him space of a car without realizing that a small kid on bicycle is coming. Most of my class fellows became business men in the local town to support their family, some of them became engineers, and some of them became nothing. Class had few talented guys who secured top positions in every year exam, rest of them had to deal with extreme wrath of their dads, because every father wanted his son to be an engineer or doctor. It was pretty good, if you were good at studies, you were the best, but no one realized every kid had the same mind, which had different colors in different fields. It was surprising to see kids acting and lying so very well to teacher that no one realized them as damn good actors. My friends gossiped so well about random people that could make them journalists, so was with other few class fellows who were pretty good with pencil and colors, if they had right guidance they were the best artists.

All of my class mates tried to get in engineering university because we did not have any other options. Society was like that, even I applied in various engineering universities, and I never gave a chance to my other skills. My dad who was big fan of Indian movies, he sang in the class when he was kid, he was a good photographer and literature lover yet he never let me try those things because he wanted me to study science and what else could he do? He did not have options and in the end it is all about money. The one who has more money, he survives the best in this country.

Society plays a very important role in one’s life. A foreigner was surprised to know that in Pakistan, Engineer’s son becomes an engineer and doctor’s son becomes a doctor. Yes this is true, because we see our elders doing that and so was with my other class mates, whose parents and elders were business men or simply ordinary men. To think broader, you need to know broader and the world of my class mates finished in that town. Mentality is created by society; if majority is following traditional way then it is difficult to bring right change.

To know and to do, what you want to do are two different things, most of times we know what we want to do but we do not do it because of some external reasons. Like my dad had a friend, who was dark in complexion, he always dreamed of becoming an actor. His friends laughed on him and told him who will pick him as an actor. In a couple of years, he became a very famous actor at Pakistan Television Network. He showed them, it is not the society which will decide what he will become but he will show the society what he is capable of.  There are many parents who do not let their children do what they want to do or society in small cities and towns is different, so individual is bound to do what is allowed or good in society in a perspective of that particular society.

I may sound like Aamir Khan in three idiots that a person should do what he wants to do. Yes and this is also necessary to know what you really want to do. I do not know if I am absolutely right what I have written, but that is what, I have observed, when I lived in a small town for 17 years and then 6 years in an urban city. The skills that I have discovered in later 6 years are much more than what I discovered until 17 years and what I have discovered now should have discovered very early. I do not know, who to blame, my school, parents or society?

 

About billaytoot

I am trying best to come up with the best analysis about the society. I have grown up in two different class of societies. My schooling was from a very ordinary school at a small town and I ended up being a Computer Scientist although I wanted to be a film director I love playing tennis, volley ball, squash, soccer, table tennis, cycling and badminton. I have done sketching, oil painting and fabric painting. I have good grip on camera. I have also participated in short movie, ad films and poster designing competitions. I Love traveling and environmental science. planning to study business and want to start a business. Yes I love humor and I am a very jolly person I would really appreciate if my readers leave comments because their words are very encouraging to me.
This entry was posted in Social Issues and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Becoming What?

  1. Sohail says:

    Billay! this is a very complex society, things appear to be a lot different when you see them from a different perspective. I at least won’t blame a father, who lives in a small town having limited exposure of the outside world that keeps changing at much faster pace than what he is actually capable to fathom, for not understanding his son’s wish to become anything but doctor or engineer….so stop worrying..try contributing for the good..and play and play good tennis..anyways when you visit us bring your gear with you, we’ve got a good bunch of guys at the tennis court.

    • billaytoot says:

      I do not argue about it. I even said that a father can not do any thing because the society is like that, you do no have opportunities and I agree with you that this is a very complex system and could be taken in any perspective. This is just an observation of society that I have done, not the conclusion. I am also dying to play good tennis. Sure I will join you with big forehands and backhands like Roger.

Leave a Reply

