I beat nature and nature beats me

Finally I did speak about Global Warming in Muhammad Ali Jinnah University, BBA Class. It was weird to be called Sir and then guard not allowing me to leave the university because he thought I am a student. I pity my driver, who all the way listened to me about Global Warming and he scares that his job will finish if I stop using car to help this EARTH.

This world is too complex, where everyone is busy in their own race, Individuals fighting with social issues, feeding their kids, striving for some social status, some are busy in getting education and some are busy in protesting. The industries are busy in making profit; countries are busy in economy races and scientists are busy in yelling to REDUCE EMITTING CARBON DIOXIDE.

While talking about Global Warming in the class, there were number of questions that were coming in my mind and I was scared of students asking those questions because neither I had answers for them nor I did not know anyone who could answer those questions. But I realized students were too busy in their studious age that all the educational material was just a material for them, all they were dealing as that’s the way to deal it, pass time, pass exam, pass university and get a big job, no matter if the job is to promote such stuff which has contributed in an increase of global warming.

I talked about global warming, green house gases, carbon emission, developing countries and population that how all these things matter in making your life hell. I really did not know what to tell them for stop emitting carbon dioxide. I told them to use public transport although I had come myself in a separate car because public transports are not adequate to travel. I told them use lesser electricity, but in Pakistan we hardly have electricity, I told them more population means more use of energy and more use of energy means more burning of fossil fuels. I looked stupid for talking about over population in a class of society where people just think about them and their kids. They never show concerns about the changing society in any manner. When talk about over population that it  just not create social problems but also environmental problems they give you different statements from Holy Book that how could you deny so many blessings from God yet without realizing we are actually misusing his blessings.

For a while, if I think of stop emitting carbon dioxide and stop using car which means I do not need my driver, I do not know how he will survive, if I do not use air conditioner my neighbors will still use it, if I do not work because I am working in industry then how will I earn?  And if I work in some organization which is not directly polluting environment yet I still care about using lesser electricity, public transport then for sure I would be called stupid by my friends since I earn so much and I do not live comfortable life. Our culture has changed, better life means better personal car. Better air conditioned home, prefer new items than recycled. We watch television more than enough, which has affected our outdoor life, which means we use much more electricity. Our attitude never teaches anything to our next coming generations to save planet.

I keep wondering how people lived without technology in the past, when they had enormous number of difficulties without air conditioners, cars or electricity yet they were not participating in Global warming. Today we have comfortable life, we can travel faster, we can sleep much better in hot days but yet we have destroyed our planet so badly that has caused extreme weathers and diseases. I would not have been able to answer if some student had asked me, what have we got with such technologies when at a certain level we have comfort zones but again we have to face extreme levels as well because of them? Were not we better without technologies when we were at least not destroying nature? If someone fights with me, for sure I will fight with him back, so is nature doing with us. We destroy it and it destroys us with floods, hurricanes, extreme heat and extreme cold.

About billaytoot

I am trying best to come up with the best analysis about the society. I have grown up in two different class of societies. My schooling was from a very ordinary school at a small town and I ended up being a Computer Scientist although I wanted to be a film director I love playing tennis, volley ball, squash, soccer, table tennis, cycling and badminton. I have done sketching, oil painting and fabric painting. I have good grip on camera. I have also participated in short movie, ad films and poster designing competitions. I Love traveling and environmental science. planning to study business and want to start a business. Yes I love humor and I am a very jolly person I would really appreciate if my readers leave comments because their words are very encouraging to me.
This entry was posted in Opinion and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I beat nature and nature beats me

  1. Mariam says:

    Don’t stop doing good just because you’re the only one doing it. Go do it even if nobody cares or notices. Stop using your car or your ac if you feel that it will make a difference. Perhaps some day others will follow in your footsteps.

    Use your car, don’t fire your driver. But don’t use your car unnecessarily. Walk wherever you can walk. Ride a bicycle wherever you can. Take the bus if you can. Where you can’t do all the rest, then take your car.

Leave a Reply

