Following the role model

Aamir khan has made my two sons better looking” said a mother, “they did not really care about dressing until, the first movie of Aamir khan Qayamat se Qayamat tak came, that changed my eldest son, he adopted Aamir khan’s hair style and dressing sense so was with my youngest son when Dil chahta hai came“;

I have noticed that most of people have a role model in their lives who they follow, it reflects from their attitude, the way they talk, behave, dress and act. we have seen this pretty obvious in kids when they want to dress up like spider man or batman but its not just with the kids but also with elders. Role model changes with time like some have political figure, movie actor or some daily life character. So what I believe is, a person’s attitude is actually a reflection of his role models from his childhood to adulthood, he is combination of what he learned through different roles. I might be right to some extend because I have observed people who have different ideologies and behaviors had different role models in their past and some times they have few similarities because at some time they had same role models.

what psychology says

Piaget argued that younger children do not have the capabilities to think in the same way as older children.  And that children have to go through a process of cognitive development in order to achieve the abilities of an older child or adult.   Piaget believed that there are a number of stages that all children go through in the same order.  Piaget is therefore arguing that these stages are innate.

Bandura takes a very different approach to developmental psychology.  In his study of aggression, Bandura (1961) demonstrated that children learn development from role models.   Bandura’s approach is an extension of behavioural theories which emphasise the way we learn behaviour from others, our environment, experiences and so on.   Bandura was particularly interested in the way children learn new behaviours through observing and imitating role models.

I have seen a lot of parents who are not satisfied how their teenager kids behave, most of them parents who have studied from outmoded schools and have lived in such culture and their kids studding in western and modern schools and following western culture (probably kids have role models from west). Since both parents and kids have different role models they are not pretty satisfied in appreciating each other. lets say the mother was happy with her sons who followed Aamir khan because she also deeply liked aamir khan.

My mother always told me to behave and copy my elder brothers since they were better in education and every mother wants that. When I told her that I wanted to be like Jinnah, she always kept quiet that was because she also liked Jinnah. I love Roger Federer (a top ranked tennis player) and I try to copy him while playing my tennis shots, I was pretty surprised when a 53 year old called me Roger federer and believed that I played like him. Whatever you think in your brain, leads your body to act like that.

It is not also necessary that a person who have a role model, he tries to look or copy him always but for example if a female likes some male actor or personality then she would be liking all the males who are similar to her role model vice versa. There are very few people who have charisma in their personalities to become role models for public.

About billaytoot

I am trying best to come up with the best analysis about the society. I have grown up in two different class of societies. My schooling was from a very ordinary school at a small town and I ended up being a Computer Scientist although I wanted to be a film director I love playing tennis, volley ball, squash, soccer, table tennis, cycling and badminton. I have done sketching, oil painting and fabric painting. I have good grip on camera. I have also participated in short movie, ad films and poster designing competitions. I Love traveling and environmental science. planning to study business and want to start a business. Yes I love humor and I am a very jolly person I would really appreciate if my readers leave comments because their words are very encouraging to me.
This entry was posted in Opinion and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

